Skip to content

Refit Enterprise, Part II

November 17, 2012

As you can see, I’ve made some progress on the drive section. It’s been completely wrapped in ‘Aztec’ decals… which simulate the thousands of individual panels that make up the skin of the Enterprise. And when I say wrapped, I mean wrapped. Virtually every inch of this thing is covered. I can’t fully declare victory on the Secondary Hull yet, though. I still have to apply the detailed marking decals.

While I have the inevitable list of things I’d do differently “if only I had known”, I do have one major gripe. I got exactly the brand and color/number of paint specified in the instructions… including a blue/green mix called Duck Egg Blue. You can see this color on the Pylons, Nacelles and the top of the neck. The problem is that the decals in the same area have a blue coloring that’s supposed to match the Duck Egg Blue… and it’s not even close. I don’t know if Testor changed the color, the instructions were just wrong or the decals are off, but my color scheme doesn’t match the hero or other models I’ve seen online. I haven’t seen any indication of a mismatch in any of forum or other build instruction. I’m at a bit of a loss.

20121117-081726.jpg

20121117-081736.jpg

From → Life

One Comment
  1. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative. I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this short article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

