Skip to content

K-9: Tools & Materials

January 11, 2009

Right now I’m working on the outer, bottom shell of K-9. My plan is to eventually build a chassis that will contain the electronics and support the shell… but I’ll deal with that later.

To keep the shell as light as possible, yet sturdy enough to withdstand my young kids, I’m using:

  • 12 x 24 x 1/8 inch plywood sheets
  • 3/8 x 3/8 inch wooden dowels
  • 1/2 by 1/4 inch wooden dowels

I’m sure fiberglass or various metals would be better options, but wood is inexpensive and I already have most of the tools. This picture should give you some idea how the pieces come together:

cimg1224

From a tools perspective, I’ve found these most useful:

  • jigsaw
  • 10 inch table saw
  • hand saw & mitre box
  • clamps
  • binder clips
  • wood glue
  • nail gun
  • Dremel

Binder clips are awesome for clamping smaller pieces together or holding multiple plywood sheets in alignment when cutting.

cimg1226

The nail gun is optional… but I’m impatient and waiting for glue to dry takes too long. Finally, you have to have a Dremel. Even the most well cut pieces don’t align perfectly and need to be sanded down.

From → K-9

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

