Skip to content

We have a dog!

April 20, 2009

Well… almost…img_0039

img_00421For a change, I decided that my day job could end when the normal “work day” did. With all this extra free time I snuck into the garage and added the neck and head. The neck is nothing more than 1/2 x 1/2 inch thick piece of wood, about 13 inches long, cut to a 30 degree angle where it meets the body. Its attached with brackets on either side and with a screw through the back. I wanted it secure but removable – hence no nails or glue.

To mount the head, I cut a rough opening 1/2 inch wide, two inches up the rear panel and one inch into the bottom panel – using the joint where the two met as a starting point. (When I built the head, I made sure the interior supports didn’t fully span this joint.) I positioned the head at the right height (eyeballing it), marked the neck, removed the head and then drilled a 5/8 inch hole from left to right through the neck. (With me so far?) The neck itself extends about 3 inches into the head and the hole is about an inch and a half from the top of the neck.

I then put the head back on and inserted a 1/2 inch diameter dowel into the hole. After positioning it between two of the interior head supports, I screwed it in. (This makes a lot more sense if you look at the pictures.)

My plan is to mount a small motor on neck inside the head. It will turn the dowel and, thereby, be able to raise or lower the head.

Next up… build the other side of the head and then the finish work – grind down nail heads, lots of wood filler and sanding.

From → K-9

2 Comments
  1. Dman permalink

    Do you have the cutting plans you used?
    The links only show the head plan, but not a cutting plan for the body.
    Any chance you kept that?

  2. jrdpizzo permalink

    Dman…. Not sure I understand the question. My post on January 10th has three sets of plans for the body. Granted they all contain slightly different measurements. I used Google’s Sketch-up to make a composite 3D model with consistent measurements and cut from that. R u asking if I would post the 3D file? BTW: here’s the link to post: https://johndelpizzo.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/google-is-my-friend/

Leave a Reply

