Skip to content

Paperless boarding passes rock

October 28, 2009

You’re at your hotel. You don’t have access to a printer, need a boarding pass and are late leaving for the airport… what do you do? That was me this morning.

The first part was easy… I checked in on-line from my iPhone. But I wouldn’t have time to wait in line for a boarding pass at O’Hare. Fortunately, American Airlines offered to email my pass to my phone when I checked in. The link in their email opened a 2-D barcode in a browser window – which TSA and the gate agent scanned from my screen. No waiting in line or paper needed.

On the one hand, this is not new thinking. I’ve seen concepts like this talked about for years and read about pilot projects. I just hadn’t seen it deployed (in the US) before. Now I need to find out how many airports are equipped to handle this and if other airlines are following suit.

Nice job, American Airlines.

From → Electronics, Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

