Skip to content

Final Musings from the Outer Banks

July 21, 2010

Note: The following post was written while on vacation between  July 9th and the 17th. It’s being posted now because I did not have internet access at the time.

Well, today is our last full day in the Outer Banks. Tomorrow we pack up and head back. The good news is that we still have the weekend at home to “recover” before I have to return to work.

Without Internet access, I actually had time to read two and a half books: Craig Ferguson’s American on Purpose (on my iPad), Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azkaban and The Rebellion of Ronald Reagan. (I’m still working on the last one.) The internet and TV are great things. Sometimes, though, it’s nice to get lost in something that hasn’t been reduced to a 2 minute clip on Youtube.

I also had some time just to watch the kids play. Chris, 7, and my daughter, Grace, 7, were the ring leaders. My godson, Zack, 3, was happy to run around and yell near the other kids. But my son, Jack, 5, had a hard time. The older two didn’t want to play with “a baby”… and he felt he was too old to play with Zack. When they did play with him, he was the outsider…. the villian in the super hero game or the like. He just wanted to play with his big sister. There was a lot of coaching for Jack and several warnings to the older ones. It’s a tough situation and I remember the feeling from when I was a kid. The desire to belong is powerful.

From → Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

